Author Topic: RCI 2995DX NO POWER  (Read 134 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Crambone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
RCI 2995DX NO POWER
« on: September 13, 2019, 12:30:14 AM »
Ok guys I grounded test point 7 (TP7) to the RX Shielding Box, after I have no output power on any Bands, am, fm, cw....
It keys but shows NO power at all and when undereducated the needle on the RCI just bounces up and back down very quickly.

Any suggestions?

Offline The Radio Shop

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6091
  • Karma: +321/-2
    • View Profile
Re: RCI 2995DX NO POWER
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2019, 09:02:55 AM »
If you take another radio on the same channel can you hear it in the receiver when you key up the bad radio?
Buddy kc4umo

Offline Crambone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RCI 2995DX NO POWER
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2019, 10:23:23 PM »
NO canít hear anything. I found Q66 only showing 13Vdc, 2.4Vdc and 13Vdc. I believe 2.4 is the collector  and should show higher voltage? I replaced it with a new Q66 (canít recall the number) but still getting the same voltages. I tried Q66 because I found TP7 only showing 2.4V

Offline Crambone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RCI 2995DX NO POWER
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2019, 10:27:55 PM »
OH by the way I love your videos! Helped me fix my 101E without getting any help.

Thank You for sharing your valuable knowledge we appreciate it!

Offline Crambone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RCI 2995DX NO POWER
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2019, 07:18:39 PM »
So I pulled Q66 2SB754Y and replaced with new and still the same voltages? I tested the one Installed and the one I pulled and they tested good.
             old.       new
hfe        184       144
Ube       536mv   547mv
Ic.         6.3ma    6.4ma

I popped the collector pin off and Its showing 13Vdc but when installed it drops to 2.4Vdc Im thinking something shorted from the Collector to the TP7?
So I pulled the alignment board from TP7, 8 & 9 and tested continuity of each to ground. TP7 shows continuity but only for around 3 second then stops then shows again 3 seconds ..........! So it only does it under power if I unplug power it doesn't show continuity to ground? so plugged in switch on we have continuity as explained above. unplug with switch on no continuity, plugged in switch off no continuity. So only power and switch on will it show continuity?
Had a friend check his on the phone the same way and he doesn't receive any continuity to ground like I am seeing?