Author Topic: greatest has been that never was  (Read 4948 times)

Offline kopcicle

• View Profile
greatest has been that never was
« on: April 12, 2016, 03:21:45 AM »
I'm a bit rough on the troops at times . irreverent , irascible , acerbic , dirty old man with out remorse . I do have my good side . I really do teach what I learn and try to have some humor about it . Problem is I also have no problem calling an inept time waster just that , a waste of time . Guess I'll have to work on that .
I have nearly 30 years experience working on all common makes of motorcycle and and somewhat less experience working on those I can't spell . I honestly don't have a brand preference and believe that anything less than that you ride being more important than what you ride is a posture for a--hats , imbeciles and docile media led lemmings of the American public .

I started in radio by winding wire on a quaker oats box and listening through war surplus high impedance headphones . The first transmitter was a keyed 807 oscillator and the receiver a two tube regen . Grandfather was instrumental in  developing long range communications for B17's flying over Europe and pioneered the “flying wire” that is now used to talk ULF to submarines . I , like so many , was involved in early citizens band radio . A white face Knight , a Cam88 , A Citiphone SS and finally a Johnson Viking II (w/6146's and a complete rework of the audio circuit (can't leave well enough alone) . I returned from the service to transistors and early IC's . I still have a box of the original Cybernet 02A boards that I continue HF experiments with . I have the usual collection of Uniden and rebranded junk as well as a few more familiar pieces like a 390A , 1011c , 101's , Henry Tempo One , Uniden 2020 and at least one or two general coverage receivers , transmitters and transceivers .